Democracy in action


Lots of chatter this morning in radio-world about the importance of Tuesday’s special election in Massachusetts, and the thought occurred golf has its own referendum of sorts fast approaching.

Last week the PGA Tour announced the 16 members who will serve on this year’s Player Advisory Council (Rich Beem, Jonathan Byrd, Steve Flesch, Harrison Frazar, Jim Furyk, Jeff Gove, Paul Goydos, Jerry Kelly, Scott McCarron, Joe Ogilvie, Sean O’Hair, Brett Quigley, Steve Stricker, Kevin Streelman, Mike Weir and Mark Wilson).

Among those 16, two will be elected co-chairs and will become two of four player directors on the Policy Board beginning in 2011, a crucial time to be among the circuit’s decision makers considering the state of the economy (may we suggest Goydos and Ogilvie, both are thoughtful and passionate about the Tour).

And the Democrats think they’ve got a big day waiting for them on Tuesday.