Discussion: Should Na have been penalized?
- By Golf Channel Digital
- Oct 1, 2011 6:58 PM ET
Kevin Na made an odd move on the 15th tee Saturday in the Justin Timberlake Shriners Hospitals for Children Open.
Preparing to hit a driver on the par-4 hole, Na took his backswing, then made a high-speed downswing, but passed the clubhead well over the top of the ball.
PGA Tour officials looked at the swing on video and ruled Na did not make an attempt to strike the ball, Golf Channel reported. So he was not penalized. Fellow player Tommy Gainey, interviewed on air, indicated he wasn’t totally convinced that Na should not have been charged with a stroke.
After his round, Na told GolfChannel's Todd Lewis that he did not intend to strike the ball.
Na shares the 54-hole lead with Nick Watney at 17 under par.
Discussion: Should Na have been charged with a stroke? Did Gainey have a valid point?
Tags: Kevin Na
Contributions from writers and editors on the Golf Channel Digital team.
- SCORING: BMW PGA | Colonial | Senior PGA | LPGA
- Euro chief: Sergio has several 'colored' friends
- Garcia calls O'Grady's remarks 'unfortunate'
- Zoeller: Garcia controversy will 'blow over'
- Sergio's 'chicken' jab | Apology | Tiger: Hurtful
- Rory, G-Mac MC at BMW | No 3-peat for Donald
- Scott joins legal coalition against anchor ban
- Colonial member Palmer fires 62 | At a glance
- Grill Room: Trevino regrets 'Happy Gilmore' role
- USGA, R&A ban anchored stroke | Explanation
- Haas, Waldorf co-lead Senior PGA Championship
- Tip of the Week: Stop scooping your chip shots