Kevin Na made an odd move on the 15th tee Saturday in the Justin Timberlake Shriners Hospitals for Children Open.
Preparing to hit a driver on the par-4 hole, Na took his backswing, then made a high-speed downswing, but passed the clubhead well over the top of the ball.
PGA Tour officials looked at the swing on video and ruled Na did not make an attempt to strike the ball, Golf Channel reported. So he was not penalized. Fellow player Tommy Gainey, interviewed on air, indicated he wasn’t totally convinced that Na should not have been charged with a stroke.
After his round, Na told GolfChannel's Todd Lewis that he did not intend to strike the ball.
Na shares the 54-hole lead with Nick Watney at 17 under par.
Discussion: Should Na have been charged with a stroke? Did Gainey have a valid point?