Double jeopardy


As if there wasn’t enough rules confusion at last week’s Canadian Open – it would seem double jeopardy is a legal term officials are unaware of ( just ask Mike Weir) – we were inundated with requests to uncover what happened to Anthony Kim on Glen Abbey’s final green on Monday.

We contacted a Tour rules official who was on. Kim’s approach shot hit on the green at the par-5 closer and backed up into the water hazard guarding the putting surface. Kim, unaware he’d crossed the hazard on the other side of the lake, dropped in the fairway and made a bogey-6.

When he reached the green the official said Kim noticed the divot caused by his ball, but it was too late since he’d already played his shot.

There is no penalty for playing his ball from the fairway, but it likely cost Kim a stroke and third place by himself.