Drives of the Week: Farthest, fastest from Heritage


Each week, will take a detailed look at the players who pounded the farthest and fastest tee shots on the PGA Tour. Here are the four most important distance-related from the RBC Heritage, won by Graeme McDowell

Longest drive: Camilo Villegas, 386 yards

His big blast came on the 469-yard third hole at Harbour Town, one of the shortest courses on the Tour schedule. Villegas recorded a T-9 finish at the Heritage, marking his first top 10 on Tour since September 2011. 

Last four leaders: San Antonio: Luke List, 371 yards; Houston: Graham DeLaet, 420; Bay Hill: Robert Garrigus, 369; Tampa: Gary Woodland, 411 

Carry distance: Zach Johnson, 282.6 yards

Rest assured, this likely will be the last time Johnson tops this category. This season, the former Masters winner has averaged 270.6 yards per tee shot, putting him T-182 of the 185 players who qualify. Even so, this 282.6-yard poke was the shortest carry distance of the season, and it didn’t help Johnson break out of his season-long slump, as he tied for 48th at the Heritage.

Last four leaders: San Antonio: Rory McIlroy, 314.1 yards; Houston: Charlie Beljan, 302.4; Bay Hill: Justin Rose, 300.6; Tampa: Angel Cabrera, 299

Clubhead speed: Robert Garrigus, 121.23 mph

With prodigious bomber Charlie Beljan taking the week off, Garrigus was able to crack the top of this category for the first time this season. (He also finished a respectable T-24 at a course that wouldn’t seem to suit his bomb-and-gauge style.) His swing speed was actually one of the slowest of the season – only Harris English’s chart-topping 119.72 at the Sony Open was slower.

Last four leaders: San Antonio: Charlie Beljan, 123.51 mph; Houston: Beljan, 124.94; Bay Hill: Beljan, 125.95; Tampa: Graham DeLaet, 123.14 

Ball speed: Robert Garrigus, 180.02 mph

Garrigus also topped this category for the second time this season, and first since Pebble Beach in February. Once again, he ended Beljan’s reign atop this category, after the long-hitting Disney winner had enjoyed top honors for the past three events. 

Last four leaders: San Antonio: Charlie Beljan, 181.46 mph; Houston: Beljan, 184.90; Bay Hill: Beljan, 183.95; Tampa: Graham DeLaet, 180.71