Dufner ties major championship record of 63


Jason Dufner tied the single-round major-championship record of 63 Friday in the PGA Championship at Oak Hill.

Dufner's 7-under-par round was the 26th 63 shot in a major. He had a putt of about 12 feet for 62 but left it a foot short.

''I showed a little bit of nerves there, leaving it short,'' he said. ''That's one where you'd like to gun it when you have a chance at history. But I was able to two-putt and share a little bit of history.

PGA Championship: Articles, videos and photos

Photos: 63s in major championship history

''The history of the game is something dear to my heart. To be part of history, to be there forever, is a neat accomplishment. I never thought a guy from Cleveland, Ohio, would be able to do the type of things I've been able to do.''

Dufner is the 36-hole leader at 9 under, two shots better than Adam Scott, Matt Kuchar and Jim Furyk. His 131 total equaled the 36-hole PGA scoring record held by six other players.

Dufner got his round off to an auspicious start by spinning his approach shot back into the cup for an eagle-2 on the par-4 second. He followed with birdies at Nos. 4 and 5 to make the turn in 31. On the back, he birdied the par-3 11th, the par-5 13th and par-4 16th to shoot an incoming 32.

63s in majors


Nick Price, 1986, third round (9 under)

Greg Norman, 1996, first round (9 under)

U.S. Open

Johnny Miller, 1973 (Oakmont), final round (8 under)

Jack Nicklaus, 1980 (Baltusrol), first round (7 under)

Tom Weiskopf, 1980 (Baltusrol), first round (7 under)

Vijay Singh, 2003 (Olympia Fields), second round (7 under)

British Open

Mark Hayes, 1977 (Turnberry), second round (7 under)

Isao Aoki, 1980 (Muirfield), third round (8 under)

Greg Norman, 1986 (Turnberry), second round (7 under)

Paul Broadhurst, 1990 (St. Andrews), third round (9 under)

Jodie Mudd, 1991 (Birkdale), final round (7 under)

Nick Faldo, 1993 (St. George’s), second round (7 under)

Payne Stewart, 1993 (St. George’s), final round (7 under)

Rory McIlroy, 2010 (St. Andrews), first round (9 under)

PGA Championship

Bruce Crampton, 1975 (Firestone), second round (7 under)

Raymond Floyd, 1982 (Southern Hills), first round (7 under)

Gary Player, 1984 (Shoal Creek), second round (9 under)

Vijay Singh, 1993 (Inverness), second round (8 under)

Michael Bradley, 1995 (Riviera), first round (8 under)

Brad Faxon, 1995 (Riviera), final round (8 under)

Jose Maria Olazabal, 2000 (Valhalla), third round (9 under)

Mark O’Meara, 2001 (Atlanta AC), second round (7 under)

Thomas Bjorn, 2005 (Baltusrol), third round (7 under)

Tiger Woods, 2007 (Southern Hills), second round (7 under)

Steve Stricker, 2011 (Atlanta Athletic Club), first round (7 under)

Jason Dufner, 2013 (Oak Hill), second round (7 under)