Dyson set to learn fate after spike-mark incident


Simon Dyson will meet with a three-man disciplinary panel on Thursday to learn whether he will face further punishment from his recent disqualification at the BMW Masters.

Dyson was tied for second after 36 holes but was disqualified after the second round for signing an incorrect scorecard. The DQ stemmed from an incident on the eighth hole, when he tapped down a spike mark in his line, which European Tour officials described as a “serious breach” of the circuit’s code of behavior.

On Oct. 31, Dyson released a statement via his management team, saying, in part, “My action was in no way a deliberate act with the intention of breaking the rules. It was simply an accidental mistake which I have no reservations in apologizing for and particularly to my fellow professionals and the Tour for any inconvenience and embarrassment unintentionally caused.”

Dyson didn’t play in any of the remaining three Final Series events, but he has since returned to action with a T-52 at the South African Open and joint third at last week’s Alfred Dunhill Links Championship.

Possible discipline includes a reprimand, fine or suspension. Dyson would have 28 days to appeal any verdict.