Dyson is currently 68th in the Race to Dubai standings, and had hoped to play his way into the top 60 in order to make the field for the season-ending DP World Tour Championship. With the withdrawal, his 2013 season is officially over.
The Englishman appeared in contention through 36 holes last week in Shanghai before video evidence revealed that he had tapped down a spike mark with his golf ball. He was retroactively assessed a two-shot penalty for touching the line of his putt, but ultimately disqualified for having signed an incorrect scorecard during Friday's second round.
This week, reports indicated that Dyson would face a disciplinary hearing in front of a three-person panel assembled by the European Tour to determine if further sanctions were required because of the nature of the infraction. The options potentially available to the panel include expulsion from the European Tour, and the last time such a hearing was held was in early 2011 when Elliot Saltman received a three-month suspension for repeatedly marking his ball incorrectly during a mini-tour event.
A recent Golfweek report cites sources that indicate it would be 'unlikely' for Dyson to receive a suspension or expulsion as a result of the incident.
No date has been set yet for the hearing, though it must take place within 21 days of Dyson being informed of the situation. The 35-year-old has maintained that he didn't realize what he had done until he saw the video evidence.
'My action was in no way a deliberate act with the intention of breaking the rules,' he said in a statement this week. 'It was simply an accidental mistake.'