GFC Search


Format, draw announced for Turkish Golf Final


The format and draw for the inaugural, eight-man Turkish Airlines World Golf Final – one of the most intriguing off-season events – was announced Monday.

Players are divided into two groups based on their world ranking on April 1. Within each group, players compete against each other in a medal-match play, round-robin format. The winner of that match is awarded one point.

After three round-robin matches, the player ranked first in Group 1 will play against the player ranked second in Group 2, and vice versa. The winning players from each group meet in the final at Antalya Golf Club in Belek.

Rory McIlroy and Tiger Woods are both in Group 1, along with Charl Schwartzel and Matt Kuchar.

Lee Westwood, Hunter Mahan, Justin Rose and Webb Simpson are in Group 2.

The matches are played using an 18-hole, medal-match play, round-robin format.

The tee times (all times ET):

Tuesday, Oct. 9:

5:30 a.m.: Rory McIlroy vs. Matt Kuchar

5:40 a.m.: Tiger Woods vs. Charl Schwartzel

5:50 a.m.: Hunter Mahan vs. Justin Rose

6 a.m.: Lee Westwood vs. Webb Simpson

Wednesday, Oct. 10:

1:30 a.m.: Lee Westwood vs. Justin Rose

1:40 a.m.: Hunter Mahan vs. Webb Simpson

1:50 a.m.: Rory McIlroy vs. Charl Schwartzel

2 a.m.: Tiger Woods vs. Matt Kuchar

6 a.m.: Justin Rose vs. Webb Simpson

6:10 a.m.: Lee Westwood vs. Hunter Mahan

6:20 a.m.: Charl Schwartzel vs. Matt Kuchar

6:30 a.m.: Rory McIlroy vs. Tiger Woods

Thursday, Oct. 11:

2 a.m.: Group A winner vs. Group B second place

2:10 a.m.: Group B winner vs. Group A second place

Friday, Oct. 12:

1:30 a.m.: Final match