Mickelson, Furyk lead Hall of Fame ballot


Phil Mickelson should prepare for a date in St. Augustine, Fla., next year.

The World Golf Hall of Fame released its ballots to determine the class of 2012 on Monday, adding the four-time major winner, as well as Jim Furyk, Loren Roberts and Miguel Angel Jimenez to the list of players eligible for induction.

Mickelson became eligible for induction in 2003 on the basis of his playing career, but could not be considered until he turned 40 last year. Furyk was in the same situation.

Jimenez was added to the international ballot after his three-win season in 2010 gave him 50 Hall of Fame points.

With his win in the 2010 Dick’s Sporting Goods Open, Loren Roberts had amassed 20 combined wins between the PGA and Champions Tours, earning a spot on the PGA Tour ballot.

The trio of Americans join 11 other players who are on the PGA Tour ballot, while Jimenez is the 10th player on the international ballot. To be elected for induction on either ballot, a candidate must receive votes on 65 percent of ballots returned.