Golf Channel to cover 'Golf's Longest Day'


ORLANDO, Fla. – Golf Channel and will devote an entire day of programming and updates Monday to covering all 11 U.S. Open sectional qualifiers in what the network is calling “Golf’s Longest Day.”

Nearly 800 players will attempt to qualify for 58 spots available for the U.S. Open at The Olympic Club.

Beginning at 7 a.m. ET and ending at midnight, Golf Channel will feature interviews, analysis and scoring updates delivered by a team of more than 50 reporters and productions professionals embedded at 14 different locations across the United States. In addition to the 11 section sites, the network will have reporters at The Olympic Club and at the U.S. Golf Association’s headquarters in New Jersey. Steve Sands and Kelly Tilghman will host most of the coverage.

“Golf’s Longest Day” will begin with an expanded, 4-hour version of “Morning Drive” from 7-11 a.m. ET. Three “Golf Central” specials (1-2 p.m. ET; 6-8 p.m. ET; and 10 p.m.-Midnight ET) will cover emerging stories, interviews and live reports. Studio analyst Tripp Isenhour, who has qualified for three U.S. Opens, and USGA senior director of competitions Mark Hill will provide perspective. will help compliment the coverage with news, scoring updates and special social media content from the Golf Channel reporters covering the qualifiers.

News team and featured guests:

Gary Williams, host, “Morning Drive”

Holly Sonders, co-host, “Morning Drive”

Steve Sands, host, “Golf Central”

Kelly Tilghman, co-host, “Golf Central”

Tripp Isenhour, analyst, “Golf Central”

Tim Rosaforte, Golf Channel insider (San Francisco)

Mike Davis, USGA executive director

Jeff Hall, USGA managing director of rules, competitions

Tom O’Toole, USGA executive committee

Mark Hill, USGA senior director of competitions

Jerry Foltz (USGA headquarters)

Whit Watson (Columbus, Ohio)

Scott Walker (Memphis, Tenn.)

Rex Hoggard (Lecanto, Fla.)

Win McMurry (Suwanee, Ga.)

Kay Cockerill (Daly City, Calif.)

Jeff Rude (Glen Ellyn, Ill.)

Alex Miceli (Rockville, Md.)

John Hawkins (Summit, N.J.)

Jason Sobel (Springfield, Ohio)

Steve Burkowski (Creswell, Ore.)

David Marr III (Houston)