Jacobsen named winner of 2013 Payne Stewart Award


ATLANTA – This award was made for Jake Trout.

Most golf fans know Trout as Peter Jacobsen, the front-man for the mid-1980s PGA Tour ban that included Mark Lye and Payne Stewart, aka The Flounders. On Tuesday Jacobsen was named the 2013 Payne Stewart Award winner, first given in 2000 to honor the late Stewart and recognize a player for his sportsmanship and integrity.

Tour Championship: Articles, videos and photos

“He was a good friend of mine,” Jacobsen said. “We did a lot of things together with our families, but mostly we competed against each other and we laughed. We had a lot of fun, played some music together, some really good music.”

Jacobsen joins a list of Stewart Award winners that includes Byron Nelson, Jack Nicklaus, Arnold Palmer and 2012 recipient Steve Stricker.