Kuchar wins The Players Championship by 2 strokes


PONTE VEDRA BEACH, Fla. – Matt Kuchar is the 2012 winner of The Players Championship. Kuchar shot a final round of 2-under 70 to and finished at 13 under par to claim a two stroke victory at TPC Sawgrass.

Martin Laird, Zach Johnson, Ben Curtis and last week's winner Rickie Fowler all finished tied for second place.

Fowler birdied the 16th and 17th holes to have a chance, but could not birdie the final hole to place pressure on Kuchar. Instead, Fowler settled for par.

Ben Curtis, who played alongside Fowler in the penultimate group, birdied Nos. 16 and 18 to secure his share of second place.

Laird missed a seven-foot par putt to take second alone.

Luke Donald shot 6-under 66 to finish alone in sixth. Had Donald finished alone in fourth place, he would have retaken the No. 1 spot in the Official World Golf Ranking.

Kevin Na, who led coming into the final round, struggled on Sunday, shooting a 4-over 76 to fall into a share for seventh place at 8 under with Jhonattan Vegas and Bo Van Pelt.

Tiger Woods was 4 over on his round through eight holes, but rallied in the final nine to end with 1-over 73. He finished T-40.