McDowell penalized one shot


DORAL, Fla. – Graeme McDowell knew his ball moved after he addressed it with his putter on the ninth green Friday at the WGC-Cadillac Championship, but he wasn’t sure whether it was a penalty or not.

Before signing his scorecard, he addressed it with rules officials.

McDowell’s par quickly became a bogey.

“As I made my backstroke, the ball ever-so slightly started to move,” McDowell said. “It was kind of too late, I made my transition and I just continued on with the putt.”

McDowell wasn’t sure if it was a penalty once you started your putting stroke. Rules officials confirmed it is.