Nager nominated for 2nd term as USGA president


Glen Nager has been nominated to serve a second one-year term as president of the USGA, the organization announced Thursday. The election of the officers and 15-member executive committee will take place on Feb. 2, 2013.

“It’s an honor to be nominated again, and have the opportunity to continue working with the USGA’s talented staff, our many dedicated volunteers and members, and experienced executive committee,” Nager, 54, in his fourth year as a member of the USGA executive committee, said in a release. “This is a critical period for golf, and the momentum that we established over the past year to make the game more enjoyable, affordable and welcoming demonstrates our progress in sustaining the game and leading golf into the future.”

Included in the four newly nominated candidates for the executive committee is Sheila C. Johnson, of Middleburg, Va., who would become the first black female on the committee. The other candidates: Peter M. Castleman, of Glenbrook, Nev.; C. Malcolm Holland III, of Dallas, Texas; and Mark E. Newell, of McLean, Va.

Four other current members of the executive committee have also been nominated to serve as officers: Thomas J. O’Toole Jr., of St. Louis, Mo., and Daniel B. Burton, of Lititz, Pa., as vice presidents; William L. Katz, of Chatham, N.J., as secretary; and Diana M. Murphy, of St. Simons Island, Ga., as treasurer.

The other six current members of the executive committee nominated to continue their service: Karen S. Ammerman, M.D., of Webster, Mass.; William E. Fallon, of Pittsburgh, Pa.; William W. Gist IV, of Omaha, Neb.; Edward G. Michaels III, of Atlanta, Ga.; Mark P. Reinemann, of Pewaukee, Wis.; and Gary R. Stevenson, of San Francisco, Calif.