New schedule moves up PGA Tour POY voting


NORTON, Mass. ' The buzz about TPC Boston this week is the pending vote for PGA Tour Player of the Year, a tight race that currently includes Tiger Woods, Adam Scott and Phil Mickelson.

Because of the condensed schedule this season, ballots for the Jack Nicklaus Award are scheduled to be sent out after the Tour Championship which ends on Sept. 22. Players will vote electronically via the Tours player-only website and the winner is scheduled to be announced before the start of the 2013-14 season at the Open the first week of October.

Thats a timeframe of just over two weeks, although by utilizing electronic balloting, like last season, officials hope for a quick turnaround.

We will communicate so players are sensitive to the time frame, said Ty Votaw, the Tours executive vice president of communication and international affairs.

Player of the Year candidates are nominated by the Tours policy board and player advisory council.