No 54-hole leader won a major in 2013


It might not ease the sting of another close call, but Jim Furyk can take solace in this: None of the 54-hole leaders won a major this season.

Not Brandt Snedeker and Angel Cabrera, who were one shot clear as they began the final round of the Masters.

Not Phil Mickelson, who was one stroke ahead at Merion as he searched for that elusive U.S. Open title.

Not Lee Westwood, still majorless at age 40, who squandered a two-shot lead at the British Open.

In fact, only four 54-hole leaders in the last 19 majors have gone on to win, dating to the 2009 U.S. Open.

Twice Rory McIlroy has been able to convert a huge third-round lead into victory,while the other two players were Darren Clarke (2011 Open) and Louis Oosthuizen (2010 Open).

The players who have been unable to close the deal recently range from Tiger Woods (2009 PGA) and Dustin Johnson (2010 U.S. Open) to Peter Hanson (2012 Masters) and Tom Watson (2009 Open).

Here’s this year’s breakdown:

Masters: On the final day, Snedeker shot 75 and tied for sixth, while Cabrera carded a 70 and lost in a playoff to Adam Scott.

U.S. Open: Mickelson shot a final-round 74 at Merion, undone by poor wedge shots on the back nine, and finished in a tie for second, extending his own record of six runner-up finishes at the year’s second major.

British Open: Westwood’s ball-striking cost him on the final day at Muirfield as he shot 75 and finished in a tie for third, his eighth top-3 finish in a major.

PGA Championship: Furyk finished second after a Sunday 71 in which he made only two birdies and failed to put any pressure on eventual winner Jason Dufner.