Norman and Ryder Cup contingent highlight Shark Shootout field


Greg Norman joins nine Ryder Cuppers from the 2010 matches on the 24-player field list just released for the Shark Shootout to be played Dec. 10-12 at Tiburon Golf Club in Naples, Fla.

Graeme McDowell, the U.S. Open champion who claimed the winning point in Europe's Ryder Cup victory, will compete in his third Shark Shootout.

Steve Stricker, Stewart Cink, Dustin Johnson, Matt Kuchar, Rickie Fowler, Jeff Overton and Bubba Watson join the field from the American Ryder Cup team. Ian Poulter joins McDowell from the European team. Davis Love III, an assistant captain on the American side, is in the field along with Darren Clarke, a vice captain from the European side.

Norman, the event’s host, missed last year’s Shark Shootout while healing from shoulder surgery. He didn't compete for a year before returning to action at last month's Omega European Masters.

David Duval and Anthony Kim are in the Shark Shootout field. So are Mark Calcavecchia, K.J. Choi, Jason Day, Chris DiMarco, Jerry Kelly, Justin Leonard, Kenny Perry, Rory Sabbatini, Scott Verplank and Mike Weir.

It’s a two-man team event. Norman said he’s a big fan of Kuchar and he’ll team with Kuchar. Stricker and Kelly will return as a team as defending champs. McDowell and Clarke, fellow Northern Ireland natives, will be paired together. The rest of the teams will be announced in the coming weeks.