Overton blasts PGA for sponsor-invitation politics


PITTSFORD, N.Y. – Jeff Overton, a member of the 2010 U.S. Ryder Cup team, failed to qualify for this week's PGA Championship, making it to first alternate only to spend the majority of the opening round sitting in a chair next to the first tee.

Early Saturday morning, he took to Twitter to complain about a lack of support from the PGA of America (the tweets have since been deleted from his account):

“So, in other words you help make a corporation ($)50 to ($)100 million, three years later they put you on a chair and treat you like a piece of ...,”

Overton also tweeted: “I’ll play (your) political picks whenever for whatever. #supportusa.”

And, “@PGAChampionship had two sponsor’s invitations. Who did you give your invites to? Not the guy that helped make you ($)50 million in Wales. #boombabysucks”

Under the championship’s eligibility code, the PGA “reserves the right to invite additional players not included in the (other) categories. The total field will be a maximum of 156 players.”

Thirty-nine players were invited to play the PGA under that category, 35 of which are not from the United States, although only Ryo Ishikawa (163rd) and Paul McGinley (423rd , but Ryder Cup captains normally get invitations regardless of ranking) are higher in the world ranking than Overton (151st).

U.S. and European Ryder Cup team members from the most recent matches, in this case that would be the 2012 event, are invited to play the PGA if they are within the top 100 in the world ranking.

Overton also took to calling out his situation at the Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial earlier this year. During a backup on the 10th tee, he asked an official if he could use a practice area. That was allowed, but his use of a putting alignment aid violated Rule 14-3. He was disqualified from the tournament – a disqualification which he believes kept him from earning enough ranking point to get into the PGA Championship field.

Did u know

One tour official tells u to do something. That gets u a dq which keeps from the PGA championship on ur favorite course.

If an official gives u a bad ruling the ruling goes. Thanks.

Sorry. Tough to sleep with all the #politics