Pettersson penalized two strokes in final round

RSS

KIAWAH ISLAND, S.C. – David Price had been there before, two years ago in fact.

But of course when Price informed Dustin Johnson at the 2010 PGA Championship that he needed to add two to his scorecard for grounding his club in a hazard on the 72nd hole the American didn’t have any chance to recover from the infraction.

Carl Pettersson, who began the final round at Kiawah in the final group and three shots behind front-runner Rory McIlroy, has 17 holes to rebound from a similar infraction he incurred on the first hole Sunday.

Pettersson’s tee shot at the first hole drifted right of the fairway and just into a hazard, as he played his approach to the green he brushed a leaf – a breach of Rule 13-4c, moving a loose impediment in a hazard – and was informed by Price after teeing off on No. 4 of the two-stroke penalty, turning his par at the first into a double bogey-6.

He bounced back from the ruling with a 20 footer for birdie at the fourth, his second consecutive birdie, and is five strokes off the pace at 4 under.