Prammanasudh finds sprinkler trouble


BETHLEHEM, Pa. – Stacy Prammanasudh was cruising along at even par through eight holes at the U.S. Women’s Open on Friday when she got an unexpected bad bounce on the par-3 9th hole. Prammanasudh’s tee shot hit a sprinkler head and caromed into the gallery, between two grandstands.  Because one of the grandstands intervened with her line of play, Prammanasudh was allowed to take free relief from the grandstand under an Appendix to the Rules of Golf for Temporary Immovable Obstructions.

But this is where it gets interesting. Prammanasudh’s nearest point of relief no closer to the hole and without interference or intervention (within one clublength) of her line of play, happened to be on the other side of the second grandstand, about 20 yards from where her ball originally came to rest. That’s where she played her second shot – after taking relief one clublength from the outer edge of the grandstand, and dropping within another clublength.

Prammanasudh’s second shot found the rough but then she hit a magnificent pitch shot to four feet and made her putt for bogey. She is currently 4 over for the tournament through 30 holes.