Turns out Every’s bagman was merely looking at a compass, which is legal under the Rules of Golf, according to a post by Missy Jones of golftraditions.com.
According to Rule 14-3, a player can use a compass during a round to help determine wind direction. It is legal because it provides only directional information.
Matt Every's caddie spotted using a compass in final round. Perfectly legal now. Rule 14-3. Whew! pic.twitter.com/kKPn4PA65o— Todd Fulks (@ToddFulks) March 24, 2014
That wasn’t the only reason fans were talking about Mason on Sunday. He also dropped some colorful language while urging Every to lay up with his third shot on the par-5 16th at Bay Hill.