Possible rule change suits Simpson


CHARLOTTE, N.C. – Three days removed from his most recent near-miss with PGA Tour gold, Webb Simpson didn’t seem overly distraught by his overtime loss or the archaic rule that cost him in New Orleans.

Simpson, who lives across the street from Quail Hollow and is a regular on the club’s sprawling practice tee, was penalized a stroke when his ball moved on the 15th green on Sunday at the Zurich Classic. He finished tied with Bubba Watson and lost on the third playoff hole.

Not that Simpson was dwelling on the loss, or the penalty, although he was encouraged by news the U.S. Golf Association is looking into adjusting the rule when a ball is moved by an outside agent, like wind.

“They should look into it,” he said. “I’m sure they will come up with a good adjustment and hopefully get something done about it.”