Solheim Cup Friday afternoon fourball matches


PARKER, Colo. – The 13th Solheim Cup matches began Friday at Colorado Golf Club with the Europeans racing out to a 3-1 lead in the morning foursomes. Here is a breakdown of the afternoon fourballs (best ball) matches with analysis from Jay Coffin and Randall Mell, who are both on-site covering the event.

Match 5: 2:45PM ET – Suzann Pettersen-Carlota Ciganda (Europe) vs. Stacy Lewis-Lexi Thompson (USA)

COFFIN: Lewis was out of sorts in the morning and it's a surprise she's playing again. Don't see Pettersen losing this match, and helps Europe keep momentum. EUROPE WINS

MELL: Pettersen’s hot putter in morning win gives the Euros positive momentum here, while Lewis is fighting negative momentum after a disappointing morning loss. EUROPE WINS

Match 6: 3:00PM ET – Caroline Hedwall-Caroline Masson (Europe) vs. Angela Stanford-Gerina Piller (USA)

COFFIN: Rookies Masson and Piller both in this match. Stanford and Piller are good friends and will face a tough, steady duo. Could go either way. U.S. WINS

MELL: Stanford teams with her friend Piller, a long hitter suited to this course. They can make a lot of birdies together. U.S. WINS 

Match 7: 3:15PM ET – Anna Nordqvist-Giulia Sergas (Europe) vs. Brittany Lincicome-Brittany Lang (USA)

COFFIN: Lincicome and Lang will make a ton of birdies playing their own ball. They're made to play together in this format. U.S. WINS

MELL: Lincicome will bomb it here with Lang a good match to keep her chatting, laughing and loose. U.S. WINS 

Match 8: 3:30PM ET – Catriona Matthew-Charley Hull (Europe) vs. Cristie Kerr-Michelle Wie (USA)

COFFIN: Have to think Kerr and Wie provide a spark at the end of a day that once looked bleak for the U.S. Will be neat to see how Hull handles nerves. U.S. WINS

MELL: Matthew won’t lose back-to-back matches. The veteran is a steady hand to pair with the young and fearless Charley Hull. EUROPE WINS

Note: Paula Creamer, Lizette Salas, Morgan Pressel and Jessica Korda are not playing in the afternoon for the U.S. Jodi Ewart Shadoff, Betriz Recari, Azahara Munoz and Karine Icher are not competing for Europe.