Stenson receives Europe's Golf Writers Trophy


The awards have started rolling in for Henrik Stenson, whose historic season netted him Europe’s Golf Writers Trophy on Monday.

Given annually to recognize outstanding achievements from European players, Stenson received nearly two-thirds of the vote to win the award for the first time.  The other nominees included U.S. Open champion Justin Rose and the victorious European Solheim Cup team.

“It’s a huge honor and a great reflection on the year I had,” said Stenson, who won three times, captured both the FedEx Cup and Race to Dubai, and is No. 3 in the Official World Golf Ranking. “I’m looking forward to getting a few of these trophies I’ve won into the summer house in Sweden. It has been such a great year that I can have a few in Europe and a few in my house in America.

“What a thrill it is going to be over Christmas to sit by the fire with my family and take stock of the season, look at trophies such as this one and reflect on the year of my life.” 

Rory McIlroy won this award in 2012.