Stricker, Stanley, Villegas grouped at John Deere


Steve Stricker begins his search of a fourth consecutive John Deere Classic title on Thursday at 12:45 p.m. local time (CT). Stricker goes off the first tee at TPC Deere Run with Kyle Stanley and Camilo Villegas.

Last week's winner, Ted Potter Jr., gets moved up to a feature grouping with Zach Johnson and Nick Watney. The trio goes off at 7:30 a.m. from the 10th tee. 

The group after Potter may be the other with the most star power. Stewart Cink, K.J. Choi and Jonathan Byrd are on the tee at 7:40 a.m.

Jordan Spieth, the low amateur from the U.S. Open, starts at 8:50 a.m. from the 10th tee with Ed Loar and Zack Miller.

John Daly is enjoying a minor renaissance of late, posting consecutive top-20 finishes on the PGA Tour. He is grouped with Ken Duke and Daniel Summerhays from the 10th tee at 1:35 p.m.