Sybase Match Play field nearly set


The field’s nearly complete for the LPGA’s Sybase Match Play Championship (May 19-22).

Fifty-five players in the 64-player field are now set.

The top 10 players not already qualified were taken from the leaderboard after the completion of play Friday at the Avnet LPGA Classic.

Sandra Gal, Jenny Suh, Sarah Kemp, Mindy Kim, Alena Sharp, Paige Mackenzie and Grace Park advance as seven of the 10 players from Friday’s leaderboard. Four players are tied for the final three spots off that leaderboard. The tie will be broken based on how those players stand after 54 holes on Saturday. Aree Song, Mi Hyun Kim, Chella Choi and Haeji Kang are vying for the three spots.

Also, at the end of play Sunday, the top four players on the updated LPGA money list not already qualified for the Sybase Match Play Championship will advance into the field.

Forty-eight players off the LPGA’s category one priority list previously qualified:

Kyeong Bae, Amanda Blumenherst, Na Yeon Choi, Paula Creamer, Shanshan Feng, Sophie Gustafson, Hee-won Han, Maria Hjorth, Katherine Hull, Amy Hung, M.J. Hur, Vicky Hurst, Karine Icher, Juli Inkster, Jimin Kang, Cristie Kerr, Christina Kim, I.K. Kim, Song-Hee Kim, Candie Kung, Brittany Lang, Jee Young Lee, Meena Lee, Seon Hwa Lee, Stacy Lewis, Brittany Lincicome, Catriona Matthew, Kristy McPherson, Ai Miyazato, Mika Miyazato, Azahara Munoz, Anna Nordqvist, Se Ri Pak, Hee Young Park, Inbee Park, Suzann Petterson, Stacy Prammanasudh, Morgan Pressel, Beatriz Recari, Jiyai Shin, Angela Stanford, Karen Stupples, Yani Tseng, Wendy Ward, Karrie Webb, Michelle Wie, Amy Yang and Sun Young Yoo.

Two sponsor exemptions also will be added to the field.

Pairings will be announced the week of the Sybase Match Play Championship.