Those tricky golf rules


CHASKA, Minn. – Another rules scrape occurred on Thursday at the PGA Championship, this time involving Luke Donald.

At Donald’s second hole, the Englishman’s approach rolled into a divot on the green’s fringe that he said looked like it was caused by a putter that was slammed into the ground. Donald requested a ruling from an official who told him to mark his golf ball, repair the divot and replace the ball.

After his round, a rules official informed Donald he should have considered the lie ground under repair and taken a drop, but because he’d been told otherwise he was not assessed a penalty.

“Now I know,” Donald smiled. “I’m a quick learner.”