Twelve events, 12 winners on PGA Tour in 2012


Herman Cain had his 9-9-9 plan. The PGA Tour is on the 12-12-12 plan. Through 12 events in 2012, there have been 12 different winners on Tour.

While that’s quite a contrast to the five events it took Mark Wilson to become a repeat winner in Honolulu and Phoenix last season, it is not abnormal for such parity over the last decade-plus.

Since 2001, there have been five seasons where it has taken at least a dozen events for a player to win twice.The four players to end those streaks were Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Vijay Singh and Ernie Els.

By contrast, Els took the Hawaiian double in 2003 to become a multiple winner in the minimum number of events.

There is good news for Justin Rose and Hunter Mahan. In three of the last four years, the first player to win twice had taken a World Golf Championships event as part of their pair of victories.