U.S. Open field rounding into shape


The U.S. Golf Association announced exemptions into next month's U.S. Open for 24 players based on their standing inside the top 60 of this week's Official World Golf Ranking.

Among the notables exempt into the field at Olympic Club are two-time champion Ernie Els, Players co-runners-up Zach Johnson and Martin Laird, Phoenix winner Kyle Stanley, as well as Kevin Na, Ryo Ishikawa and Rickie Fowler.

Other exempt players include: Sang-Moon Bae, Thomas Bjorn, Rafael Cabrera-Bello, Paul Casey, Nicolas Colsaerts, Ben Crane, Simon Dyson, Gonzalo Fernandez-Castaño, Anders Hansen, Miguel Angel Jimenez, Robert Karlsson, K.T. Kim, Francesco Molinari, Carl Pettersson, Ian Poulter, Alvaro Quiros and Robert Rock.

A total of 77 players are now into the field for the year's second major.

The USGA will also exempt any player in the top 60 of the Official World Golf Ranking on June 11 that is not already in the field.

The winner of this week’s European Tour BMW PGA Championship will also be exempt.