Westwood among first-time PAC nominees


Though he only became a full-time PGA Tour member last year, Englishman Lee Westwood was among six first-time members chosen as part of the 16-man Players Advisory Council for 2014, the Tour announced Friday.

Joining Westwood on the PAC for the first time are former Masters winner Trevor Immelman, Australian Marc Leishman, 2013 Web.com Tour money winner Michael Putnam, Will MacKenzie and Brendon Todd. The remaining 10 members, each of whom have previously served on the council, include Jason Bohn, Stewart Cink, Ken Duke, Charley Hoffman, Matt Kuchar, Scott Langley, Davis Love III, Geoff Ogilvy, Webb Simpson and Kevin Streelman.

The PAC works alongside the PGA Tour Policy Board to advise commissioner Tim Finchem on various issues affecting the Tour and its membership. Bohn, Hoffman and Streelman were additionally selected to run for PAC chairman, with the leading vote-getter by Feb. 8 tasked with leading the council.

Bo Van Pelt and Mark Wilson, who served as PAC co-chairmen in 2013, will now join Harrison Frazar and Jim Furyk as player directors on the Policy Board. The player chosen as PAC chairman for 2014 will replace Furyk among the player directors beginning in 2015.