×
Golf Channel Mobile
Golf Channel
Free
install

GFC Search

 

Woods shoots 70, never considered DQ

RSS

AUGUSTA, Ga. – A long day for Tiger Woods ended with a score of 70.

Woods was summoned to Augusta National at 8 a.m. ET Saturday to explain his drop on the 15th hole during the second round of the Masters. Ultimately, he was slapped with a two-stroke penalty for the improper drop and began his third round at 1:45 p.m. five behind the leaders, instead of three.

Many called for Woods to disqualify himself before the round, but Woods set off to gain ground on the leaders in pursuit of his fifth green jacket.


77th Masters Tournament: Articles, videos and photos


“It was certainly a distraction early,” Woods said. “Just like anything, it happens, you move on. I was ready to play come game time.”

Woods birdied the first hole and some at Augusta National believed he would have the last laugh by day’s end. But he cooled off considerably and was 1 over par after 11 holes.

In the next four holes Woods made three birdies (Nos. 12, 13 and 15) and jumped back into the top 10 of the leaderboard. The 15th hole was Woods’ nemesis Friday and could be considered the same on Saturday as his eagle putt lipped out. Had it dropped, he would’ve been within two shots of the lead.

Woods is 3 under par through 54 holes, four shots behind leaders Brandt Snedeker and Jason Day.

“I missed a few putts here and there, could’ve converted the par 5s better than I did,” Woods said. 'It started off obviously differently, but I'm right there in the ballgame with a great chance to win this championship.'

The conversation after the round turned quickly to Woods’ drop situation. He said he never considered disqualifying himself, and says that he can live with the tournament's competition committee decision.

“Under the Rules of Golf, I’m abiding by the rules,” Woods said. “They made the determination that nothing had happened yesterday.”