Year of the Ruling


This will come as no surprise to anyone with even a passing interest in the game, but the PGA European Tour’s season-ending Dubai World Championship ended on Sunday . . . wait for it, with a penalty.

Ian Poulter and Robert Karlsson finished 72 holes tied at 14 under and traded birdies at the first extra hole (No. 18). At the second playoff hole Poulter accidentally moved his mark while replacing his golf ball on the green and was assessed a one-stroke penalty.

“There’s always positives to take away but right now I’m not really seeing any of them,” said Poulter, who made a bogey-6 on the hole to lose the playoff.

Not sure Poulter’s gaffe edges Dustin Johnson’s mistake by the Great Lake during the PGA Championship, but it’s a close runner-up.