You Oughta Know: BMW Championship


LAKE FOREST, Ill. – Jim Furyk leads Steve Stricker by a shot heading into Monday's rain-delayed conclusion of the final round of the BMW Championship. Here’s what You Oughta Know from Conway Farms:

• Jim Furyk (first), Brandt Snedeker (third) and Tiger Woods (fifth) have established themselves as perennial playoff contenders. The former FedEx Cup winners are each in the top five here at the BMW.

• Furyk hasn’t won since the 2010 Tour Championship. In fact, he is winless in his last five attempts with at least a share of the 54-hole lead: 2013 PGA (second), 2012 Tampa Bay (playoff loss), 2012 U.S. Open (T-4), 2012 WGC-Bridgestone (T-2) and 2012 McGladrey (third). In his career, he has converted just nine of 22 third-round leads.

• Since 2000, the third-round leader at the BMW has won just six of 13 times. Justin Rose was the last, in 2011. This season, the third-round leader has gone on to win just 16 of the 36 stroke-play events.

Zach Johnson had only one top 10 in his first 16 starts of the season, but he’s turned it on late with five in his last six events. He’s solo fourth at the BMW, three shots back.

• Tiger Woods is four shots behind heading into the final round. The largest final-round comeback in tournament history is seven shots, by Tom Kite in 1986.

• The only players in FedEx Cup history with lower scores than Matt Kuchar’s third-round 61 are Furyk (59, Round 2, 2013 BMW) and Johnson (60, 2007 Tour Championship).

• Since 2007, only three players have recorded top-10 finishes in all four FedEx Cup events in a single season: Rory Sabbatini (2007), Padraig Harrington (2009) and Dustin Johnson (2012). Graham DeLaet is the only player with a chance this year, but he’s T-41 through 54 holes at BMW.

• Furyk and Stricker, 1-2 on the BMW leaderboard, are tied for the most top 10s in FedEx Cup history, with 11. Stricker, with 59, has the most career playoff rounds in the 60s.

Jordan Spieth is on the verge of becoming the sixth rookie to reach the Tour Championship, following John Huh (2012), Keegan Bradley (2011), Marc Leishman (2009), Andres Romero (2008) and Brandt Snedeker (2007). At 20 years, 1 months and 26 days, Spieth will also become the youngest player to compete at East Lake.