KIAWAH ISLAND, S.C. – Zach Johnson was penalized a shot at the 18th hole Sunday at the PGA Championship when his ball moved on the green after he addressed it with his putter.
Johnson deemed he was in violation of Rule 18-2b over a short putt as he made the turn to his second nine.
With a one-shot penalty, Johnson made a triple-bogey 7 at the 18th and signed for a 79, finishing at 12-over for the championship.
The PGA released an explanation of the ruling:
“Johnson notified PGA of America rules committee of his concern regarding the movement of the ball. Video review by officials was inconclusive. However, Johnson was convinced that the ball moved.
“Under the rules, when a ball moves after address, it must be replaced, unless the movement of the ball occurs after the player has begun the stroke, or the backward movement of the club for the stroke, and the stroke is made. In this situation, since the movement of the ball took place after Johnson had begun the stroke, he was not required to replace the ball, but was not exempt from the one-stroke penalty provided for under the rule.”
Already well in front in the team competition, the USC Trojans are now on the verge of both team and individual NCAA titles entering the final round of competition at the University of Georgia Golf Co... Read More
- LIVE STREAM: Watch Senior PGA Championship
- SCORING: Colonial | Senior PGA | LPGA Bahamas
- Westy in position for first BMW PGA win | Scores
- Overton DQ'd for using putting aid | Clark in mix
- Monty: All afraid to talk | Zoeller: Will 'blow over'
- Euro chief: 'Colored' friends | Unfortunate
- Sergio's 'chicken' jab | Apology | Tiger: Hurtful
- Colonial's Rd. 2 concludes with Kuchar on top
- Scott joins legal coalition against anchor ban
- Mickelson, Stricker not among Memorial field
- Friends Cochran, Perry share Senior PGA lead
- Pettersen trails Bowie Young at Bahamas LPGA
- Tip of the Week: Stop scooping your chip shots