Inkster Walker Receive LPGA Honors


DAYTONA BEACH, Fla.-- LPGA Tour and World Golf Halls of Famer Juli Inkster has received the 2004 William and Mousie Powell Award, while Colleen Walker, a 22-year LPGA Tour veteran, was named recipient of the Heather Farr Player Award.
'I am truly thankful and honored to receive this recognition by my peers,'
said Inkster. 'This award means a lot to me and my family, and I am thankful to be acknowledged for my dedication to the Tour.'
The William and Mousie Powell Award recognizes an LPGA player who, in the opinion of her playing peers, through her behavior and deeds best exemplifies the spirit, ideals and values of the LPGA. The award was donated to the LPGA Tour in 1986 by Mousie Powell, an LPGA honorary member.
Inkster has fashioned a tremendous career on the LPGA Tour, earning her way to the Hall of Fame in 1999 and accumulating 30 victories, including seven major championships. She currently ranks third on the all-time career money list and 13th on the 2004 ADT Official Money List. In addition to her remarkable achievements on the golf course, Inkster has shown dedication to the LPGA and received support from her peers in return by being elected to the Player Executive Committee for the 2002-04 seasons.
Inkster is a five-time member of the U.S. Solheim Cup Team, leading the team with talent and spirit each time. She has been a role model and a mentor to the young players, all while maintaining a balance between her career and her family.
'Juli has demonstrated a spirit and an exuberance for the game of golf ever since the first day she joined the LPGA in 1984,' said LPGA Commissioner Ty M.Votaw. 'She portrays the values and passion that we hope for in all of our players. Not only has she been an integral part of the LPGA, but she has also led by example and shown that one person can be the ideal role model for many.'
The late Mousie Powell was a close supporter and friend of the LPGA from the 1950s until her death on Jan. 18, 1997. She was married to William Powell, a Hollywood legend and one of its leading male actors. Mousie, who was also featured in movies during that time, started the William and Mousie Powell Award in 1986. The award is intended to recognize the qualities and values of sportsmanship, which are not reserved only for winners.
The Heather Farr Player Award honors an LPGA player who, through her hard work, dedication and love of the game of golf, has demonstrated determination, perseverance and spirit in fulfilling her goals as a player.
Walker was chosen for the award in recognition of her return to the LPGA Tour after being diagnosed with and ultimately beating breast cancer.
Walker was diagnosed with breast cancer on Jan. 6, 2003, and she returned to the LPGA Tour at the Franklin American Mortgage Championship benefiting Vanderbilt Children's Hospital in May 2004.
Walker, who has won nine titles in her LPGA career, including one major championship, joined the LPGA in 1982. The Jacksonville, Fla., native won the Vare Trophy in 1988 and enjoyed her most successful season in 1992, when she won three times.
In 2000, during the first round of the Longs Drugs Challenge, Walker hit a tree root and tore the cartilage in her left wrist, which resulted in surgery therefore not allowing her to finish the season. In 2001, she did not compete on the LPGA Tour, but won the Hy-Vee Classic, an event on the Women's Senior Golf Tour. With continuing problems in her wrist she was not able to compete in 2002.
On Jan. 6, 2003, Walker received the most shocking news of all after a routine mammogram, learning that she had breast cancer. She underwent chemotherapy and radiation and completed her treatments in July 2003.
Through hard work and determination, she persevered and returned to the LPGA Tour in May 2004.
'I am very honored my peers voted for me to receive this award,' said Walker. 'It is a great honor to accept this award in memory of Heather, but I wish she was here.'
'Colleen is very deserving of this award in recognition of her perseverance following a very difficult year,' said Votaw. 'Her dedication in returning to the game of golf has been an incredible inspiration to those around her.'
In 1994, the LPGA established the Heather Farr Player Award to celebrate the life of Farr, an LPGA Tour player who died on Nov. 20, 1993, following a four-and-a-half-year battle with breast cancer. The award recognizes an LPGA Tour player who, through her hard work, dedication and love of the game of golf, has demonstrated determination, perseverance and spirit in fulfilling her goals as a player, qualities for which Farr is so fondly remembered.
Past winners of the William and Mousie Powell Award are Kathy Whitworth, 1986; Nancy Lopez, 1987; Marlene Hagge, 1988; Heather Farr, 1989; Judy Dickinson, 1990; Pat Bradley, 1991; Shelley Hamlin, 1992; Alice Miller, 1993; Jill Briles-Hinton, 1994; JoAnne Carner, 1995; Betsy King, 1996; Sherri Turner, 1997; Judy Rankin, 1998; Meg Mallon, 1999; Lorie Kane, 2000; Wendy Ward, 2001; Gail Graham, 2002; and Suzy Whaley, 2003.
Past recipients of the Heather Farr Player Award are Heather Farr, 1994; Shelley Hamlin, 1995; Martha Nause, 1996; Terry-Jo Myers, 1997; Lorie Kane, 1998; Nancy Scranton, 1999; Brandie Burton, 2000; Kris Tschetter, 2001; Kim Williams, 2002; and Beth Daniel, 2003.