Ochoa looks for lucky No 7 in Canada


2006 Canadian WomenOTTAWA, Canada ' The LPGA resumes this week as it heads across the border for the CN Canadian Women's Open.
The event will take place at the Ottawa Hunt and Golf Club in Ottawa, Canada, marking the eighth different site in as many years.
Defending champion and Rolex Rankings' No. 1 Lorena Ochoa will look for her seventh victory this season. In 2007 at the Royal Mayfair Golf Club in Edmonton, Alberta, Ochoa finished with a 16-under par 268 (70-65-64-69), topping runner-up Paula Creamer by three strokes. Thanks to a tournament record 7-under par 64 in the third round, Ochoa entered the final round with a four-stroke lead and never looked back.
If the defending champ is able to pull off yet another win this week, it would be just the second time the event would have a two-time winner as Meg Mallon claimed titles in 2002 and 2004.
This year's field includes nine of the top 10, and 20 of the top 25 players in the Rolex Rankings. The field will also see five former CN Canadian Women's Open winners, which include defending champion Ochoa, Annika Sorenstam (2001), Mallon (2002, 2004), Meena Lee (2005) and Cristie Kerr (2006), compete for the trophy.
There are 10 rookies in this week's field. Eight of those (Yani Tseng won the McDonald's LPGA Championship and Louise Friberg won the MasterCard Classic) will have their sights set on earning the first victory of the year. Tseng and fellow newcomer Na Yeon Choi currently hold down the top two spots in the Louise Suggs Rolex Rookie of the Year standings.
With the CN Canadian Women's Open serving as the last of the 13 winner events, this week's champion will automatically earn a spot in the season-ending ADT Championship.
The tournament will have three hours of coverage all four days on Canadian television, while the GOLF CHANNEL will air two-and-a-half hours of tape-delayed action on Saturday and Sunday.
Related Links:
  • Full Coverage - CN Canadian Women's Open
  • GOLF CHANNEL Airtimes