Pak Looks to Make History


2004 Jamie Farr Owens ClassicSYLVANIA, Ohio -- Se Ri Pak will attempt to become only the second woman in LPGA history to win an event five times when she returns to defend her championship at the Jamie Farr Owens Corning Classic Presented by Kroger this week.
Her win at the event last year tied her with seven other LPGA legends as winners of the same event four times. LPGA Tour and World Golf Hall of Famer Mickey Wright holds the record for wins at one event with five, coming at the Sea Island Open in 1957-58, 1960-61 and 1963.
Pak won the Jamie Farr Owens Corning Classic Presented by Kroger in 1998-99,
2001 and 2003. She is the first player to win the same event four times since Patty Sheehan recorded her fourth victory at the Rochester International in 1995.
Pak and Sheehan share four-time-winner status with LPGA greats Patty Berg, Laura Davies, Betsy Rawls, Louise Suggs, Babe Zaharias and Wright. Pak recorded her fourth victory at the Jamie Farr Owens Corning Classic Presented by Kroger when she was 25 years old, making her the youngest of any four-time event winner.
Pak is currently ninth on this year's money list and in pursuit of her second title of 2004. Her first victory of the season came at the Michelob ULTRA Open at Kingsmill, where she defeated Juli Inkster and Lorena Ochoa by two strokes.
Returning to the $1.1 million event to challenge Pak will be last year's second-place finisher Marisa Baena. Heather Bowie and Mi Hyun Kim also return after good performances last year, as they tied for fourth place, finishing three strokes behind Pak.
The tournament field will also feature several previous winners from the 2004 season, including Moira Dunn, Meg Mallon, Weetabix Women's British Open champion Karen Stupples, Jennifer Rosales, Sherri Steinhauer, Karrie Webb and Ochoa.
After her 2001 victory at the Jamie Farr Owens Corning Classic Presented by Kroger, Pak celebrated by jumping into the clubhouse pool. She made a splash in the pool again after her victory in 2003. If she wins again this year, fans can look forward to her continuing that tradition.
Most wins in a single event
5 - Mickey WrightSea Island Open (1957, 1958, 1960, 1961, 1963)
4 - Patty BergWomen's Western Open (1951, 1955, 1957, 1958)
World Championship (1953, 1954, 1955, 1957)
4 - Laura DaviesStandard Register PING (1994, 1995, 1996, 1997)
4 - Se Ri PakJamie Farr Kroger Classic (1998, 1999, 2001, 2003)
4 - Betsy RawlsU.S. Women's Open (1951,1953, 1957, 1960)
Tampa Open (1954, 1956, 1957, 1958)
4 - Patty SheehanRochester International (1989, 1990, 1992, 1995)
4 - Mickey WrightLPGA Championship (1958, 1960, 1961, 1963)
U.S. Women's Open (1958, 1959, 1961, 1964)
4 - Louise SuggsTitleholders Championship (1946, 1954, 1956, 1959)
Western Open (1946, 1947, 1949, 1953)
4 - Babe ZahariasWomen's Western Open (1940, 1944, 1945, 1950)
Related links:
  • Full Coverage - Jamie Farr Owens Corning Classic