Sorenstam Returns as Champion


04 Weetabix WomenBERKSHIRE, England -- One year has passed since Annika Sorenstam achieved her goal of completing the LPGA Career Grand Slam at the Weetabix Women's British Open. The victory secured a spot for Sorenstam among the greatest competitors in the history of women's golf.
This week, Sorenstam returns to the tournament where she earned that spot to defend her title as Weetabix Women's British Open champion.
Sorenstam is currently this year's top money-winner after winning four Tour events, including her seventh career major at the McDonald's LPGA Championship Presented by Coca-Cola.
Along with Sorenstam's return, the Open will welcome nine of last year's top-10 finishers, including second- and third-place finishers Se Ri Pak and Grace Park.
The Weetabix Women's British Open is the LPGA's last major of the year, and features a $1.6 million purse.
Entering the tournament after recent wins will be Kim Saiki, who became a Rolex First-Time Winner at the Wegmans Rochester LPGA Presented by Lincoln Mercury; Moira Dunn, who became a Rolex First-Time Winner at the Giant Eagle LPGA Classic; and Meg Mallon, whose back-to-back victories at the U.S. Women's Open conducted by the USGA and the BMO Financial Group Canadian Women's Open boosted her into second place on the ADT Official Money List.
Other 2004 tournament winners participating in the Weetabix Women's British Open are Karen Stupples, Cristie Kerr, Jennifer Rosales, Lorena Ochoa and Sherri Steinhauer, who won the event in 1998 and 1999, and Pak and Park.
Other past Weetabix Women's British Open winners in this year's field include Liselotte Neumann (1994), Emilee Klein (1996) and Sophie Gustafson (2000). Each of these women won the event before it became one of the LPGA's four major tournaments in 2001.
Sorenstam's victory last year came by a single stroke over Se Ri Pak, who bogeyed the final hole. Sorenstam shot a 2-under-par 70 in the final round to take the win after trailing leader Patricia Meunier-Lebouc by two strokes heading into the final day.
In the 10 years of its existence on the LPGA Tour, the Weetabix Women's British Open has been held at Sunningdale Golf Club twice before - in 1997 and 2001. In 1997, the tournament was won by Karrie Webb and in 2001 by Pak.
Related links:
  • TV Airtimes

  • Full Coverage - Weetabix Women's British Open