Sorenstam Set to Defend ADT Championship


2004 ADT ChampionshipWEST PALM BEACH, Fla. -- The 2005 LPGA season ends this week with one of the most exclusive events on Tour. An elite field, which includes only the top-30 players from the ADT Official Money List, will gather at Trump International Golf Club to compete for $1 million in prize money at the ADT Championship.
The name at the top of that list once again is Annika Sorenstam, who will defend her eighth title of the year and her third at this event. Sorenstam is enjoying yet another remarkable season on the LPGA Tour with nine wins in 19 starts and nearly $2.4 million in earnings.
Sorenstam is looking to record her 10th victory of the season, which would be her second time to reach double-digit wins in her illustrious career. In 2002, Sorenstam won 11 times and joined Carol Mann (1968), Betsy Rawls (1959), Mickey Wright (1961-64) and Kathy Whitworth (1968) as the only players in LPGA history to win 10 or more tournaments in a season. A win at this week's ADT Championship would put her in even more elite company, as only Wright has won 10 or more times in two separate seasons.
Sorenstam currently leads the race for the Vare Trophy, which goes to the player with the lowest scoring average with a minimum of 70 rounds played. She enters the week with a 69.2576 scoring average, which leads Cristie Kerr by more than a stroke (70.7500). Sorenstam could collect her sixth Vare Trophy, the second-most in LPGA history behind Whitworth's seven.
Sorenstam's nine wins this year include two major championships, the Kraft Nabisco Championship and the McDonald's LPGA Championship Presented by Coca-Cola, her eighth and ninth career major titles. She also made history at the Samsung World Championship, which she won for the fifth time in her career, tying Wright as the only players to win the same tournament on five separate occasions. Sorenstam recently won the Mizuno Classic for the fifth-straight time, becoming the first professional golfer, on either the LPGA or PGA Tours, to win the same tournament five consecutive times.
Louise Suggs Rolex Rookie of the Year Paula Creamer, who is ranked second on the ADT Official Money List, will look for her third victory of the season.
Creamer, 19, was a Rolex First-Time Winner at the Sybase Classic Presented by Lincoln Mercury in May, and also won the Evian Masters in July by an impressive eight shots.
Creamer, who scored the most U.S. points at The Solheim Cup this year, also picked up two international wins in Japan this season. She has amassed more than $1.4 million in earnings in her first season, becoming the youngest and fastest player to earn more than $1 million in her career. Creamer's 70.9481 scoring average ranks third in the Vare Trophy standings.
Kerr will also look for her third victory of the season at the ADT Championship. She won the Michelob ULTRA Open at Kingsmill in May and the Wendy's Championship for Children in August. Kerr is enjoying the second best season of her career as she has won more than $1.3 million this season.
Along with Creamer, seven other Rolex First-Time Winners will compete at the ADT Championship. Headlining the list is Jeong Jang, who has won more than $1 million this season for the first time in her career. Jang became a Rolex First-Time Winner at the Weetabix Women's British Open, one of four LPGA majors. Other first-time winners set to compete for the title include Jimin Kang, Birdie Kim, Marisa Baena, Heather Bowie, Meena Lee and Soo-Yun Kang.
After coming into the final round with a one-shot lead over Kerr and Jennifer Rosales last year, Sorenstam and Kerr tied at 13-under-par to end the final round. Sorenstam went on to defeat Kerr in a one-hole, sudden-death playoff to become the event's first three-time champion.
Related links:
  • TGC Airtimes

  • Full Coverage - ADT Championship