Sorenstam Wins Seventh Player of the Year Award


Ladies Professional Golf AssociationAnnika Sorenstam secured her seventh Rolex Player of the Year Award with her win Sunday at the Mizuno Classic, tying her with fellow LPGA and World Golf Halls of Fame member Kathy Whitworth for most all time.
With two events left in the LPGA season, Sorenstam's 104.75-point lead over Grace Park is insurmountable. Even with wins at The Mitchell Company Tournament of Champions and the season-ending ADT Championship, where points are doubled, Park would only earn 90 more points.
Sorenstam becomes only the second player in LPGA history to win the award four straight years, again following in the footsteps of Whitworth, who was Rolex Player of the Year from 1966-69. No other player has won more than four Rolex Player of the Year Awards in a career, let alone four consecutive. Sorenstam also won the award in 1995, 1997-98, while Whitworth won three straight from 1971-73. The award has been given out every year since 1966.
'Obviously, I am very happy,' said Sorenstam, who tied another LPGA record this past week by winning her fourth consecutive Mizuno Classic. 'It has been a goal of mine. When I think about it, it is quite an achievement, so I am very proud of it.'
Sorenstam has won seven events this year, which includes one major, and has four runner-up finishes. She has competed in only 17 LPGA tournaments, five fewer than Park, but earned Rolex Player of the Year points in 15 of those events. Her worst finish this year is a tie for 13th.
The Swede has dominated her sport like few others ever have. In the span of the last four years, she has won 32 tournaments, including five majors. She also has 70 top-10 finishes in the last four years, and has recorded a stroke average below 70 every year as well.
Sorenstam has also amassed more than $2 million in earnings each of the last four years, while no other player has ever won more than $2 million in single season earnings.
Rolex Player of the Year points are awarded for top-10 finishes and are doubled at the LPGA's four major championships and the season-ending ADT Championship. The points system is: 30 points for first; 12 points for second; nine points for third; seven points for fourth; six points for fifth; five points for sixth; four points for seventh; three points for eighth; two points for ninth and one point for tenth.