Webb to Defend Sorenstam Looks for No 11


WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. ' Defending champion Karrie Webb and 10-time 2002 winner Annika Sorenstam highlight the LPGAs season-ending ADT Championship this week at Trump International Golf Club in West Palm Beach, Fla. The $1 million event features the top 30 players on the 2002 LPGA money list.
Thirteen of the 30 participants have claimed victories in 2002. Twenty-five have at least one career LPGA win on their resume, while the remaining five have all placed third or higher in an event.
Joining Webb and Sorenstam as multiple 2002 winners vying for the ADT Championship title are five-time champion Se Ri Pak, LPGA Tour Hall of Famer and two-time winner Juli Inkster, and dual winners Laura Diaz, Rachel Teske and Mi Hyun Kim. Also in the field are 2002 champions Cristie Kerr, Gloria Park, Grace Park, Meg Mallon, Janice Moodie and Patricia Meunier-Lebouc.
With 10 wins in the bag, Sorenstam has already had one of the most prolific seasons in the history of the LPGA. It had been 34 years since a player posted double-digit wins in a season, and a win at the ADT Championship would make Sorenstam only the second player in LPGA history to notch 11 wins in one year. Mickey Wright, who set an LPGA record of 13 wins in 1963, also recorded 11 wins in 1964.
Sorenstam has won four of the last seven tournaments and is a lock to repeat as Rolex Player of the Year. She enters the tournament fresh off a twostroke win over Grace Park at the Mizuno Classic in Otsu-Shi, Shiga, Japan.
The Swede won the 1997 ADT Championship in a sudden-death playoff with Lorie Kane and Pat Hurst. She is certain to win her fifth career Vare Trophy for lowest scoring average and has an excellent chance to be the first player ever to finish the year with a scoring average below 69.
Missing from the field is Hee-Won Han, who ranks 14th on the money list but decided not to play in the event due to the lengthy travel from her home in Korea.
Instead, Dorothy Delasin, who finished 23rd in the event last year and is 31st on the 2002 money list, completes the ADT Championship field.
Webb, who won the inaugural event in 1996, is the defending champion and has tasted victory twice this season. She triumphed at the Wegmans Rochester LPGA in June and was crowned champion at the Weetabix Womens British Open in August.
Webb, the only two-time winner of the ADT Championship, opened the 2001 tournament with a 5-under-par 67 and never looked back. She led at the end of every day and held off a charging Sorenstam in the final round to win the premier event by two strokes. Webb and Sorenstam were the only two players to finish the event under par.
Moodie placed third, with Rosie Jones and Mallon finishing fourth
and fifth, respectively.