Season Ends Without Pak


Se Ri Pak, a five-time winner on the LPGA Tour this year, surprised everyone by withdrawing from the Tours season-ending Tyco/ADT Tour Championship scheduled to take place next week.
As the second winningest player this season, Pak held her own all year, impressively challenging Annika Sorenstam for the money title and the race for lowest scoring average. Sorenstam, who has eight victories this year, currently has an average of 69.38 to Paks 69.69.
And although the odds were not in her favor, there was a chance that Pak could take home lowest scoring average honors if things went her way at the season finale.
But Pak, who won this event in 1999 and is ranked second on the money list with $1,623,009 in earnings, decided to forgo the season-ending event - the last official money event on the schedule - and a chance for the $215,000 winners check in order to be with an ill family member in Korea.
She is the third eligible player to withdraw from the $1 million event scheduled to take place at Trump International in West Palm Beach, Fla. Rachel Teske and Mi Hyun Kim have also withdrawn from the event and have been replaced by Betsy King (31st on the money list) and Moira Dunn (32nd), respectively.
Marisa Baena (33rd) will replace Pak. Baena recorded three top-10 finishes in 2001 and joins five others as first-timers. Laura Diaz, Dunn, Cristie Kerr, Jill McGill and Mhairi McKay will also make their debut appearances in the 2001 Tyco/ADT Championship.
More Golf Headlines