Canadian Tour Names New Commissioner


Canadian Tour-LargeOAKVILLE, Ontario -- The Tournament Players Association announced the election of Richard Arthur Janes to the position of Commissioner and the appointment of Dan Halldorson as the new Deputy Director of the Canadian Tour.
The 52-year-old Halldorson is a 30-year veteran of the Association, a multiple winner on the PGA Tour and was inducted into the Canadian Golf Hall of Fame in 2002. A two-time World Cup Champion, Halldorson will assume day-to-day management responsibilities with the Canadian Tour effective February 1, 2005 involving the operation of tournaments in Canada, the United States and Mexico.
In a professional career that has spanned three decades, Halldorson won seven times on the Canadian Tour including the 1986 CPGA Championship and spent 16 years on the PGA Tour with wins at the 1986 Deposit Guaranty Classic and the 1980 Pensacola Open.
Richard Janes becomes the fifth Commissioner of the Canadian Tour, a position that has been held by former PGA Tour player Bob Beauchemin, Richard Grimm, a member of the Canadian Golf Hall of Fame, Jacques Burelle and former Telus CEO Ian Mansfield.
Janes, 52, is no stranger to the sports world or the boardroom and he is widely recognized as one of the leading sponsorship marketing experts in North America. A graduate of Queens University, he is a retired member and former Executive Director of the Canadian PGA and the past president of MacLaren Momentum, one of the leading sponsorship marketing consultancies in Canada. A former Executive Vice-President of MacLaren McCann, Mr. Janes has assisted companies such as General Motors and RBC Financial Group with landmark sponsorship investments over the past 10 years including General Motors Place in Vancouver, the RBC Center in Raleigh, NC and a host of other grassroots sponsorship investments including the national ski series, Pontiac GMC Cup.
Halldorson and Janes have been personal friends and business associates on and off the golf course for more than 30 years.
I could not imagine a more exciting opportunity in which to return to Canadian golf at this stage in my golf career said Halldorson, a native of Brandon, Manitoba who now resides outside of Chicago. I got my start on the Canadian Tour as did Mike Weir and countless other professionals now competing in the United States and around the world. The opportunity to work with Rick will make my transition from the golf course to the executive suite that much more rewarding. This time hell be giving me the lessons.
The Tournament Players Association is the governing body of the Canadian Professional Golf Tour and part of the International Federation of PGA Tours. The Association represents a membership of 250 Canadian and International tournament professionals with an alumnus that has included Masters Champion Mike Weir, Stuart Appleby, Chris DiMarco, Steve Stricker, Craig Perry and Tim Herron.
The 2005 season officially begins March 10 with the Barton Creek Pro-Am in Austin, Texas, broadcast on The Golf Channel.