I asked Arnold, Who on your staff would want to play as my marker? He said, How about my grandson, Sam (Saunders)? said Jacobsen, who shot a final-round 69.
After shooting 80 in the third round, Jacobsen was relegated to playing by himself as the first man out Sunday. Instead, he played with his good friends grandson.
Hes 14; he hits it a mile. I had to stretch to get it by him on all the holes, said the six-time tour winner. But what impressed me the most was his short game. Hes got incredible touch with his wedge, the flop shot and the putter.
Hes going to be on tour. I hope he goes to high school and I hope he goes to college, but hes going to be on tour.
Sam played quite impressively from the championship tees. He wasnt exactly sure what he shot ' but he did beat his Hall-of-Fame grandfathers scores of 86-87.
I shot 43 on the front, something around 40 on the back, said the Orlando Isleworth resident. It wasnt my best score, but I hit some good shots.
'I was just happy to have the opportunity to play with Mr. Jacobsen, and I had a great time.'
As for his grandsons future, Palmer, who followed the pair in a cart, agreed with Jacobsens assessment.
Hes got a lot of maturing to do ' eight more years of schooling. Maybe by then well have him beat into shape, he said with a laugh.
Stop, Drop and Roll
Dan Forsman and Brett Quigley were disqualified after both signed incorrect scorecards, the result of a bizarre incident Saturday on the 18th hole.
Quigleys approach shot plugged into the thick grass near the slope of a greenside bunker. Because it was embedded, he was entitled to a free drop. Under the rules, if the ball didnt come to rest in the spot in which it was dropped, a player is allowed to place the ball after two such drops.
Quigley dropped once, and the ball rolled into the bunker. He dropped again and, this time, Forsmans caddie, who was there to hand Quigleys caddie a rake, stopped the ball before it could go into the sand.
Quigley said he had to let the ball come to a natural rest, so he dropped for a third time, and then placed his ball.
Under Rule 19-2, Quigley should have played the ball where the caddie ' Greg Martin ' stopped it and taken a two-stroke penalty. He signed for a 72, instead of a 74.
Forsman was also penalized because of his caddie's mistake. Rule 19-1 states that if a competitor's caddie is involved, the competitor also gets a two-stroke penalty. Forsman signed for a 69 rather than a 71.
Forsman had no idea Quigley had taken three drops until a fan made mention of the infraction. Quigley was disqualified Saturday, Forsman learned of his disqualification while driving to the course Sunday.
Michael Campbells runner-up finish was his best ever on the PGA Tour. His previous best was a tie for third in the 1995 British Open, though, his top Stateside result was a tie for seventh in the 1996 Honda Classic.
Its a huge thing for me to break down those barriers, because I had this thing about playing on the U.S. tour for some reason. Finally, with a good finish this week, its given me a little confidence boost for my next few weeks.
This is a huge help to my confidence, for the rest of my career, and also the next four weeks. Im playing next week, TPC, then Houston, taking a week off and then playing Augusta. So the whole preparation for the next four weeks is going according to plan.