Orender Elected President of PGA


PGA of America (150x150)PALM BEACH GARDENS, Fla. - M.G. Orender of Jacksonville Beach, Fla., was elected the 33rd president of The Professional Golfers' Association of America Saturday by delegates at the Association's 86th Annual Meeting in Philadelphia, Pa. Orender previously served as secretary of the Association from 1998-2000 and vice-president from 2000-2002.
Orender succeeds Jack Connelly of Huntingdon Valley, Pa., who will serve on The PGA Board of Directors as honorary president.
Succeeding Orender as vice-president is Roger Warren of Woodridge, Ill., who served the past two years as secretary. Brian Whitcomb of Bend, Ore., was elected secretary. In addition, three new members of The PGA Board of Directors were sworn into office.
Orender, 48, is the founding partner of Hampton Golf Inc., which operates Golf Club at South Hampton in Jacksonville, Fla., Golf Club at North Hampton in Amelia Island, Fla., Grand Haven Golf Club in Palm Coast, Fla., and Osprey Golf Club in St. Marys, Ga. A PGA member since February 1981, Orender served as president of the North Florida PGA Section from 1985-87, and was named North Florida PGA Professional of the Year in 1985. At the national level, Orender served on the Junior Golf Committee from 1982-85, the Membership Committee from 1985-92 and the Board of Control from 1993-95. He was elected to the Board of Directors in 1995 and served a three-year term through 1998, when he was elected secretary of The PGA of America.
He began his golf career in 1974 as an assistant professional at Diamond Hill Golf Club in Dover, Fla. He was named head professional in 1976, and in 1980, added the responsibilities of course superintendent. He was named general manager in 1982 and was appointed managing director in 1985. The president of Golf Trust Inc., from 1989 until 1996, when the company joined with Granite Golf Management, Orender served as president of Granite Golf Management until January 1999.
Warren, 52, is general manager and director of golf at Seven Bridges Golf Club in Woodridge, Ill. A PGA member since May 1990, Warren was president of the Illinois PGA Section from 1997-98, vice president from 1995-96 and secretary from 1992-94. Warren was named the 1998 Illinois PGA Golf Professional of the Year.
Whitcomb, 47, is a 17-year PGA member and the director of golf at Lost Tracks Golf Club in Bend, Ore., and is the owner or co-owner of four golf facilities in Arizona, Colorado and Oregon.
Whitcomb began his professional career in 1978 at Arizona Biltmore Country Club in Phoenix, and in 1981 leased Paradise Valley Park Golf Course in Phoenix, and later designed, financed and constructed an additional nine holes of golf. He still holds the lease to the facility. In 1989, Whitcomb designed and constructed The 500 Club in Phoenix, which he still operates with his partner, Tom Sneva, winner of the 1983 Indianapolis 500. In 1992, Whitcomb designed and constructed Club West in Phoenix, which he sold in 1998. In 1995, he designed and constructed Lost Tracks Golf Club in Bend, Ore., which he continues to own and operate.
Whitcomb partnered to design and construct The Golf Club at Beardance in Castle Rock, Colo. When completed the Colorado PGA Section will move its headquarters to Beardance.
Whitcomb also has a home in Scottsdale, Ariz., and served as Southwest PGA Board of Directors from 1989-91, and was Section president from 1995-97. In 2001, Whitcomb was named the Southwest PGA Golf Professional of the Year.
He served on the national PGA Board of Directors from 1998 to 2001, representing District 14, and was a member of the national PGA Properties Board of Directors from 1999-00.
The three new board members are: Jim Antkiewicz of Nevillewood, Pa., representing District 4 for the Central New York, Tri-State and Western New York PGA Sections; Jeff Porter of Hastings, Neb., representing District 8 for the Iowa, Minnesota and Nebraska PGA Sections; and Doug Vilven of Salt Lake City, Utah, representing District 9 for the Colorado, Rocky Mountain and Utah PGA Sections. The new directors will serve three-year terms.
The PGA Board of Directors is composed of the Association's president, vice president, secretary, honorary president and 17 directors. The directors include representatives from each of The PGA's 14 districts, two Independent Directors and a member of the PGA Tour. New District Directors are elected by their local PGA Sections.
Founded in 1916, The PGA of America is a not-for-profit organization composed of more than 27,000 men and women professionals who are dedicated to growing the game of golf.