Davies Added To Solheim Cup Team


LONDON, England -- Laura Davies of England was one of four players added to the European Solheim Cup team Sunday as a wild card selection by team captain Dale Reid.
Davies was added along with Scotland's Mhairi McKay and Swedes Helen Alfredsson and Carin Koch.
The automatic qualifying period ended Sunday after the Wales WPGA Championship on the Ladies European Tour. The top eight players on the European points list automatically earned a place on the 12-player team that will take on the Americans at Interlachen Country Club in Minneapolis, Minnesota from September 20-22.
Davies and Alfredsson are the only players who have participated in every Solheim Cup since its inception in 1990. Koch will make her second appearance after securing the winning point for the Europeans when she defeated Michele Redman in the singles matches in 2000. McKay is a rookie to the Solheim Cup.
'I think we have a good balance of newcomers and experience,' said Reid, who piloted Europe to victory at Loch Lomond in 2000. 'I couldn't imagine a team without Laura Davies. Mhairi and Carin have both had terrific years and I still rate Helen Alfredsson as the best match player in the world.'
Davies captured the Ladies Norwegian Open on the Ladies European Tour but the other captain's picks are winless in 2002.
Perhaps the most surprising omission from Reid's selections was Scotland's Janice Moodie. Moodie won the Asahi Ryokuken International on the LPGA Tour and shared top points honors for the European team in their victory in 2000.
Maria Hjorth of Sweden finished second at the Wales WPGA Championship and secured the eighth spot on the team, bouncing Davies from an automatic berth. This will be the first Solheim Cup appearance for Hjorth.
Annika Sorenstam, the top-ranked player in the world, finished first in the points race and will represent the European team for the fifth time.
Raquel Carriedo of Spain finished second to earn her second trip to the Solheim Cup while France's Karine Icher and Spain's Paula Marti will make their debut at the biennial team event.
England's Sophie Gustafson will play in her third Solheim Cup. Norway's Suzann Pettersen and Denmark's Iben Tinning will be the first players to represent their respective countries.
The American team will be finalized next week after the State Farm Classic with 10 players automatically qualifying. Captain Patty Sheehan will have two picks to add to her squad.