Driver Nominated as USGA President


USGAFAR HILLS, N.J. -- The United States Golf Association announced on Tuesday that Walter Driver has been nominated to serve a one-year term as organization's the president.
His election, as well as the officers and the full 15-member USGA Executive Committee, will take place on February 4, 2006, at the USGA's annual meeting.
Driver, 60, from Atlanta, Georgia, is well credentialed. He was general counsel to the Executive Committee in 1997 and named to the committee in 1999. Driver spent two years as treasurer and the last four as the vice president.
He is the chairman of King & Spalding, an international law firm, and graduated from Stanford University and the University of Texas Law School.
Driver will replace Fred Ridley.
The others who are nominated as officers of the Executive Committee are: James E. Reinhart and James F. Vernon as vice presidents, Emily R. (Missy) Crisp as secretary and Fredric C. Nelson, who has been general counsel the last three years, as treasurer.
There are seven returning members to the Executive Committee - Craig Ammerman, Dr. Lewis H. Blakey, James T. Bunch, Irving Fish, James B. Hyler, Jr., Cameron Jay Rains and Loren Singletary.
The three new members of the committee will be William M. Lewis Jr., Pat McKinney and Steve Smyers.