Final Picks Made for Seve Trophy Teams


European TourThe teams have been finalized for the second edition of The Seve Trophy. Germany's Alex Cejka was chosen as the wild card pick for the Continental Europe team while Lee Westwood of England was selected to fill the last spot on the Great Britain and Ireland squad.
The teams of ten, which include eight qualifiers as of the Madeira Island Open, one captain's pick and the playing captain, will square off at the Druids Glen Golf Club in Ireland next month.
Cejka, chosen by Continental Europe captain Seve Ballesteros, played in The Seve Trophy two years ago at Sunningdale Golf Club. The 31-year-old scored a 1 1/2 out of the possible five points.
Westwood, the 2000 Order of Merit winner, was selected by Great Britain and Ireland team captain Colin Montgomerie. The Englishman also competed in The Seve Trophy in 2000 and was the leading points winner on his squad with four.
The Continental Europe team will defend its title. Joining Ballesteros and Cejka are Thomas Bjorn, Niclas Fasth, Mathias Gronberg, Raphael Jacquelin, Miguel Angel Jimenez, Robert Karlsson, Thomas Levet and Jose Maria Olazabal.
The Great Britain and Ireland team selections came down to the wire when Andrew Oldcorn and Steve Webster battled at the Madeira Island this past week.
Oldcorn, who needed a strong finish, got off to a good start with a 7-under 65 in the second round to grab a share of the lead at minus-nine. However, he failed to carry the momentum into the weekend with rounds of 78 and 76 and tied for 18th.
Webster finished behind Oldcorn in a tie for 23rd, but his point margin coming into the event was good enough to earn him a place on the Great Britain and Ireland team.
'I'm looking forward to the challenge of playing in The Seve Trophy,' said Webster. 'Obviously I was worried about Andrew when he was 9-under-par and I was level.'
Paul Casey, Darren Clarke, Padraig Harrington, David Howell, Paul Lawrie, Paul McGinley and Ian Woosnam make up the rest of the Great Britain and Ireland squad.
Bernhard Langer and Sergio Garcia qualified for the event but they declined the opportunity to play for the Continental Europe team.
More Golf Headlines