Forest Highlands to Host 2006 US Mid-Amateur


USGAFAR HILLS, N.J. -- The United States Golf Association has announced that Forest Highlands Golf Club in Flagstaff, Ariz., has been selected to host the 2006 U.S. Mid-Amateur Championship, from September 9-14.
The Mid-Amateur is one of 13 national championships conducted annually by the USGA. First played in 1981, it is held for those at least 25 years old. Notable previous winners have been Jim Holtgrieve (1981), Jay Sigel (1985 and 1987) and David Eger (1988), all now playing on the Champions Tour. Recent winners Danny Green (1999), Tim Jackson (1994 and 2001) and George Zahringer (2002) have been members of the U.S. Walker Cup team since 1999.
The Forest Highlands Canyon Course was designed by Tom Weiskopf and Jay Morrish and opened in 1988. It will be exclusively used for the match play portion of the Championship. The Canyon course and the Meadow course, designed by Weiskopf and opened in 1999, will be used for the beginning 36-hole stroke play portion of the Championship.
This will be the 13th USGA championship staged in Arizona. In 1996, Forest Highlands hosted the U.S. Junior Amateur, won by Shane McMenamy in a playoff over Charles Howell III.
'We are delighted that Forest Highlands will host this prestigious event and look forward to working with the USGA to make this another memorable competition,' said Jack Grehan, general manager. 'A championship like this charges up the staff. The membership is excited to welcome the USGA and all these outstanding players.'
Prior to 2006, the U.S. Mid-Amateur will be played at Wilmington (Del.) Country Club, from October 11-16, 2003; at Sea Island Golf Club in St. Simons Island, Ga., from October 2-7, 2004; and at The Honors Course in Ooltewah, Tenn., from September 10-15, 2005.